As I Passed By
As I passed by                                             

I noticed her walking,                                    

By the bridle path,                                         

I heard her laughing,                             

Her long yellow hair softly dancing,              

As I passed by,         

On an otherwise dull evening,

 

She laid in the corn

And she sung to the sky,

Of a love she swore

To belong to, or die

And all other thoughts escaped her mind

As I passed by

On an otherwise dull evening,

 

A week later

I passed that way again,

I saw the girl standing

Alone in the rain,

Her heart broken,

her young faced aged,

As I passed by

On an otherwise dull evening.

©DMM 

Leave a Reply

